Posted by: apriljobeasley | December 15, 2008

Capitol Heights By Candlelight.

December 13thwould go down in the books as one of my favorite days in 2008. The day started with an ornament swap with ladies at church and concluded with the Candlelight Tour of Capitol Heights. The tour started at the Greek Orthodox Church and tickets were only $10 per adult. A total of eleven S. Capitol Parkway homes were on the tour this year.  Beautiful lights, garland, and trees adorned each home. It was truly amazing to have the opportunity to view these historic homes. To think of the families that have lived in the homes and the memories created in each one. I saw many fabulous pieces of art, retro kitchens, unique floor plans, and funky furniture. The Capitol Heights community is definitelyeclectic and I love it. Every guest was treated to Christmas cookies and cider in every home. The tour was a fun time to meet neighbors and come together as a community. Many guests were from other Montgomery neighborhoods. In a sense I believe so many people enjoy the tour because it allows them to “get out of the box.” So many homes in Montgomery are cookie-cutter so to speak. We live very traditional lives with strict schedules and dress codes. For us in Capitol Heights we don’t necessarily have to live in that cookie-cutter world.  I think a lot of people long for that freedom.  I know I did.  That is one of the reasons we moved to Capitol Heights.  I longed for a home with charm and character.  The tour gave me some great ideas for our new home as well as helped me feel a little more comfortable with getting out of the box.  After all I have lived in the cookie -cutter world for twenty-five years.  I am ready to have a little fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

